Frequency Series Presents


Sun, September 8, 2019

8:30 pm


Chicago, IL


This event is 18 and over

Performing Alfred Schnittke and Frederic Rzewski

Myra Hinrichs, violin
Dan Galat, violin
Sixto Franco, viola
Kelly Quesada, cello
Shi-An Costello, piano

SCHNITTKE: Moz-Art (1976), for two violins
SCHNITTKE: Musica Nostalgica (1972-1976), for cello and piano
SCHNITTKE: Piano Quartet (1988), for violin, viola,cello and piano
SCHNITTKE: Piano Quintet (1972-1976), for two violins, viola, cello and piano
RZEWSKI: De Profundis (1991), text by Oscar Wilde, for narrating pianist

Chicago-based contemporary chamber players Myra Hinrichs, Dan Galat, Sixto Franco, Kelly Quesada and Shi-An Costello connect to present some of the most powerful and well known chamber works of Alfred Schnittke: Piano Quintet (1972-1976), Piano Quartet (1988), Moz-Art (1976) for two violins, and Musica Nostalgica (1992) for cello and piano. Complementing the program will be a set of music for narrating pianist, including the monumental De Profundis (1991), by Frederic Rzewski, based on Oscar Wilde's De Profundis (latin for "from the depths"), an 1897 open letter written from prison, addressed to his ex-lover who contributed to his conviction and imprisonment for "gross indecency," bringing the writer's otherwise colorful life to a tragic end.
Venue Information:
3111 N. Western
Chicago, IL, 60618